Core databases
Journal article search box from the library homepage can be used for a quick search for journal articles on food science and technology. For more systematic searching and more comprehensive results it is recommended to use the databases listed below.
FoodNetBase - provides expert guidance on food safety, quality assurance, processing, brewing, regulations, and microbiology. This collection offers information on latest functional foods, antioxidants, foodborne pathogens, and packaging technologies)
Advances in Food and Nutrition Research (Science Direct)
Woodhead: Food Science Technology and Nutrition - covers Food Science, Technology and Nutrition
South African Database (Sabinet Reference) - provides a single entry point to seamlessly search Sabinet's reference products like articles, books, thesis and dissertations...
South African Bureau of Standards (SABS) - publish a large number of national standards. Each standard has a unique SANS number. You may read these standards online but due to SABS restrictions users may not print them.
EBSCOhost - is a multi-disciplinary database that covers nutrition, science and many more general interesting topics.
Gale/Infotrac - contain useful collection including food industry (food safety, prepared foods, food processing)...
Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC International - AOAC is the leader in providing validated methods, proficiency test samples, accreditation criteria, and scientific information to industry, government agencies, and academic institutions.
AACC Approved Methods: Approved Methods of Analysis used by Food Technology department.
Proquest - covers Food and human nutrition, Social Sciences, Telecommunications, Education, Science, Engineering, Dissertations & Thesis, Business, Economics, Medical, Agriculture and Computing
Wiley Online Library - hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering Food Science and Technology, Architecture & Planning, Art & Applied Arts, Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting, Chemistry....
ScienceDirect - is a collection of full text and bibliographic information covering the following: physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
SpringerLink - covers food science and nutrition, chemistry, mathematics, life science, statistics....
Users can also browse through the Faculty Guide or visit the library website
Multidisciplinary databases
Browse through Applied Science databases list
What is a database?
A database is a collection of data grouped together for a specific purpose. A database is used to keep large amounts of information organised. This enables people to search for relevant information. You can sort, browse and find information in a database.
Many different types of databases are available in the Library. Some are available on the Internet and others on CD-Rom.
Different types of databases: In a Library there are basically four types of databases:
|
|
TYPE |
|
DESCRIPTION |
|
|
|
Bibliographic databases |
|
Index - These databases include only the essential details that will help you to find the material you are looking for, e.g. name of the journal/periodical/book, name of author, volume number, issue number, date, etc. |
|
|
Full-text databases |
Contains full-text articles, etc. An example of such a database would be Ebscohost. The text can be downloaded in different formats, such as pdf (portable document format) or html (hyper text mark-up language) format. |
|||
|
Numeric databases |
This type of database provides numerical data such as statistics, survey results, census information, etc. |
|||
|
Hybrid databases |
This type of database provides a combination of different types of records. |
|||
Each database will have a description of what is available on the database. Make sure to read these descriptions before you start your search. Some databases are available to all students and lecturers for searching, while others may only be used by the Librarians, because of licence constraints.