Skip to main content

Faculty of Applied Sciences: Databases

Research assistance, subject guides, and useful resources compiled by Applied Science Faculty Librarians. This guide provides useful library services and resources that support information research needs of the Applied Science Faculty.

Applied Science Faculty Databases

AACC Approved Methods

Approved Methods of Analysis is used by the Food Technology department.

Academic OneFile

Business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, and more... Updated daily.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)

Social sciences, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, medical sciences, medical sciences, and many more.

ACM Digital Library

Full-text articles and bibliographic records covering the fields of computing and information technology.

American Chemical Society Publications

The leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences.

Cambridge Journals Online

Containing the latest research from a broad sweep of subject areas.

ChemSpider

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing access to over 25 million structures, properties and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from more than 400 data sources, ChemSpider enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search.

Citation Linker

The Citation Linker is a part of our SFX service. If you have an article citation from a bibliography or reading list, try using the Citation Linker to see if the article is available online or in the Library. Enter as much information as you have about the article in the appropriate boxes on the online form, and click on the SFX button in the lower right corner of the form. This will generate a window that provides links to available online full text.

Cloverdex

CLOVERDEX is a database of indexed periodical articles collected by the company CLOVER S.A. (Pty). It contains information primarily connected with the dairy industry in general, but also related operational aspects such as dairy products, manufacturing, agriculture, animal husbandry, management, finance, distribution, sales, cooling, transportation, etc.

Credo Reference

Offering 550 highly-regarded reference titles, Credo General Reference Premium covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference works.

Current & Completed Research

South African research projects in economics, science, humanities and includes the masters and doctoral theses from the South African Universities and technikons, as well as the research works from the government, non-government and private sectors.

Dissertations and Theses

Doctoral dissertations and master's theses are a vital fund of scholarship for any discipline. The massive body of work available through ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) represents the most comprehensive source of academic research in the world.

DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals

Provides access to open access peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly journals.

EBSCOhost

Medicine, Nutrition, diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, hardware, software, Electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, and many more general interest topics.

Emerald

Management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; engineering, applied science and technology.

FoodNetBase

Provides expert guidance on food safety, quality assurance, processing, brewing, regulations, and microbiology. This collection offers information on latest functional foods, antioxidants, foodborne pathogens, and packaging technologies

Forestry

Provides access to bibliographic information on forestry-related issues.

Gale virtual reference library electronic reference books

Gale Virtual Reference Library links to electronic access to encyclopaedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Gale/Infotrac

Medicine, Nutrition, diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, hardware, software, Electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, and many more general interest topics.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Government Gazettes

Provides easy access to full-text databases of Government and Provincial Gazettes, Government Gazette Index and Parliamentary Bills.

GreenFILE

Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Covers consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books.

JSTOR

CPUT has access to over a thousand leading journals in the Arts & Sciences Collections and the Life Science Collection. Since it is an archive, we do not have access to the most recent current issues.

Lexis Nexis South Africa

My LexisNexis offers a wide range of online publications including works like LAWSA, Butterworths Forms and Precedents, Law Reports and Statutes. My LexisNexis offers you superior local and international content.

Mintek

Mintek Publications is a bibliographic database containing the results of Mintek’s original research in the fields of metals and industrial minerals. Topics include economic geology, mineralogy, minerals engineering, extraction technology, hydrometallurgy, pyrometallurgy, biotechnology, process chemistry, measurement and control, environmental control and physical metallurgy. The database consists of reports, patents, special publications, and papers generated from research done at Mintek and published in journals or presented at conferences.

National-Research-Foundation

Research and Knowledge Networking Databases in South Africa.

Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source provides selected full text for 23 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts

Proquest

Social Sciences, Telecommunications, Education, Science, Engineering, Dissertations & Thesis, Business, Economics, Medical, Agriculture and Computing.

ProQuest Agriculture Journals

This database contains the leading agricultural journals published in North America. ProQuest Agriculture Journals offers the complete text as well as complete images from such journals as Agricultural Research, Forest Products Journal, Journal of Animal Science, Journal of Soil and Water Conservation and Plant Physiology.

RSC Journals

CPUT offers you access to the following RSC journal titles: Chemistry Communications ; Chemical Science ; Chemical Society Reviews ; Chemistry World ; CrystEngComm ; New Journal of Chemistry ; Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry.

Rural and Legal Studies

Centre for Rural Legal Studies the main focus is on agriculture and agricultural workers on commercial farms in South Africa. Emphasis is placed on labour law and labour relations, working conditions, housing, tenure, socio-economic conditions, land reform and rural local government and gender aspects relating to the above. Coverage is both national and international.

SA Theses

Theses and dissertations available at South African libraries. Included in this database is the Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations (UCTD) and Navtech. Coverage: 1918 onward.

SA-ePublications

Provides full-text access to articles published in South African journals.

Sabinet Reference

This platform will provide you with a single entry point to seamlessly search Sabinet's reference products.

SACat

Co-operative, computerised database of all library stock in Southern Africa. Includes books, journals, conference proceedings, standards, technical reports. Updated weekly.

Sage Research Methods

This is an online research tool to help researchers design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method. It focuses on methodology rather than discipline. It contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book,” and "Little Blue Book” series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and specially commissioned videos

Science Journals

Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.

ScienceDirect

An electronic collection of full text and bibliographic information covering the following: physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Scopus

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

SpringerLink

Biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics.

UCTD: Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations

The Union Catalogue for Thesis and Dissertations (UCTD) contains bibliographic records of theses and dissertations at master and doctorate level submitted to universities in South Africa. Honorary doctorates are also included. Coverage: 1918-present..

Wiley Online Library

Wiley Online Library offers a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

 

UA-89927696-1