Skip to main content

Faculty of Health & Wellness: Databases

Research assistance, subject guides, and useful resources compiled by Health & Wellness librarians

Core Databases

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics.

Health Source: Academic/Nursing

Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Covers consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books.

Medline

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Nursing Reference Center

Provides in-depth content covering areas including conditions and diseases, patient education resources, drug information, continuing education, lab & diagnosis detail, best practice guidelines, and much more.

Proquest Medical Library

Titles published by the American Medical Association.

ScienceDirect

An electronic collection of full text and bibliographic information covering the following: physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Scopus

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

SpringerLink

Biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics.

Wiley Online Library

Wiley Online Library offers a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Additional Databases

Academic OneFile

Business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Updated daily.

Academic Search Premier

Social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Access Emergency Medicine

is a complete online product that allows users to quickly search the diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of emergency cases with videos and animations.
[Restricted: This database may only be used by four users at a time. If you are unable to access it now please try again later]

Africa-Wide Nipad

Africa-Wide: NiPAD, produced by NISC South Africa, offers coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. This includes content from South African Studies, African Studies, and African HealthLine, which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations.

Credo Reference

Offering 550 highly-regarded reference titles, Credo General Reference Premium covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference works.

Dissertations and Theses

Doctoral dissertations and master's theses are a vital fund of scholarship for any discipline. The massive body of work available through ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) represents the most comprehensive source of academic research in the world.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Electronic Reference Books

Gale Virtual Reference Library links to electronic access to encyclopaedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Gale/Infotrac

Medicine, Nutrition, diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, hardware, software, Electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, and many more general interest topics.

Government Gazettes

Provides easy access to full-text databases of Government and Provincial Gazettes, Government Gazette Index and Parliamentary Bills.

Jaypee Digital

Covers the health sciences: Medicine, Dentistry and Nursing. Subjects covered include: Anatomy, Biochemistry, Biotechnology, Dentistry, Forensic Medicine, Hematology, Nutrition, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Orthopedics, Ophthalmology, Pediatrics, Physiology, Physiotherapy, Medical Laboratory Technology, Microbiology and Immunology, Nursing, Preventive and Social Medicine, Radiology and Ultrasound, Surgery.

The platform offers a large collection of ebooks, ejournals and videos of live surgeries.

Masterfile Premier

Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, full text reference books, biographies, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily.

National Research Foundation

Research and Knowledge Networking Databases in South Africa.

SA Cat

Co-operative, computerised database of all library stock in Southern Africa. Includes books, journals, conference proceedings, standards, technical reports. Updated weekly.

SA-ePublications

Provides full-text access to articles published in South African journals.

Statistics South Africa

Provides a relevant and accurate body of statistics to inform users on the dynamics in the economy and society through the application of internationally acclaimed practices.

WorldCat Dissertations and Theses

All dissertations, theses and published material based on theses cataloged by OCLC members worldwide.

UA-89927696-1