Skip to Main Content

CPUT Special Collections: Genealogy

This guide provides information on special collections in CPUT libraries.

Genealogy Collection

Information sources in this collection will help you discover your family roots and line of descent. This collection is located at the Wellington Campus Library.

Credit: Chaiwate Chat-uthai

 

Contact

For all queries related to genealogy collection contact Amohelang Boyce or Portia Rhode.

 

Amohelang Boyce

CPUT Libraries: Wellington Campus
Van Riebeeck Street
Wellington
t: +27 21 864 5260

E-mail: boycea@cput.ac.za 

 

Portia Rhode

CPUT Libraries: Wellington Campus
Van Riebeeck Street
Wellington
t: +27 21 864 5261

E-mail:  rhodep@cput.ac.za

 

Material types in our Genealogy Collection

Church registers (Microfilms)

  • Baptisms, marriages and membership records mostly of South African families from the Dutch Reformed Churches (NGK, NHK, GK) and a few from the Lutheran Churches in Cape Town and Anglican Churches in Zimbabwe.
  • These records are available in microfiche format in the microfilm reading room.
  • Microfilm readers are available to researchers to use and read the films.

 

Death notices of South African families

  • Death notices may provide a pivotal point from which to expand the search to include additional relatives because they provide the last known location where the relative in question lived, relative’s parents’ names and their dates and places of birth.

  • Some of these important documents are accompanied by newspaper cuts that gives a brief biography of the deceased person

 

Death notices of South African families hosted in our collection

  •  Western Cape Province, from the 1800s-the1900s. Orange Free State, from the 1800s-the1900s. Zimbabwe (Bulawayo and Salisbury), 1890-1976.

Family history books

  • South African family history research materials: books and manuscripts about individual families or surnames.  

Family surnames newspaper clippings

  • Cuttings on SA families from local and national newspapers.

Family photo collection

  • These photographs can be considered cultural artifacts because they are records of the events that shaped families' lives.

Family crests / coat of arms

  • Originally, family crests were intended to recognise family achievements, heritage and status in society. The design can give insight into family's history and legacy. 

 

Useful Genealogy Research Websites

This Genealogy website is a free website, dedicated to the British Settlers to South Africa in 1820, their descendants and researchers. All the information has been generously supplied or posted by the members of this website.

A nonprofit organization and website offering genealogical records. This site requires you to sign up for a free account to search it.

This page is dedicated to various issues relating to German South Africans, including genealogy, local history and church matters. Where ever possible, identical pages have been made available in English and German.

Promotes and facilitates interest and research in genealogy and family history. The Publications include the Quarterly Journal of the Genealogical Society of South Africa, Familia. 

Contains photographs of gravestones.

It was founded in 1918 with the purpose of making primary sources available in a readable and enjoyable form to anyone interested in southern African history.

It was established in 2004 with the aim of helping fellow researchers find their ancestors in South Africa.

A repository for a large portion of Methodist and Presbyterian church registers.

Jordaan genealogy

Databases

UA-89927696-1