Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in engineering and technology. You will find peer-reviewed articles from the top-cited journals in the field, cutting-edge conference papers, all IEEE published and approved standards plus over 20,000 new documents are added each month, updated weekly.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
This is an online research tool to help researchers design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An electronic collection of full text and bibliographic information covering the following: physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Statistics South Africa This link opens in a new window
Provides a relevant and accurate body of statistics to inform users on the dynamics in the economy and society through the application of internationally acclaimed practices.
UCTD: Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations
The Union Catalogue for Thesis and Dissertations (UCTD) contains bibliographic records of theses and dissertations at master and doctorate level submitted to universities in South Africa. Honorary doctorates are also included. Coverage: 1918-present..
Web of Science
The Web of Science is a publisher-independent global citation database. Web of Science Core Collection provides cover-to-cover indexing back to 1900 across the world’s highest-quality publications.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
All dissertations, theses and published material based on theses catalogued by OCLC members worldwide.
Theses and dissertations available at South African libraries. Included in this database is the Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations (UCTD) and Navtech. Coverage: 1918 onward.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offering 550 highly-regarded reference titles, Credo General Reference Premium covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference works.
Current & Completed Research (Sabinet) This link opens in a new window
South African research projects in economics, science, humanities and includes the masters and doctoral theses from the South African Universities and technikons, as well as the research works from the government, non-government and private sectors.
Dissertations and Theses (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses are a vital fund of scholarship for any discipline. The massive body of work available through ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) represents the most comprehensive source of academic research in the world.
Emerald This link opens in a new window
Management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; engineering, applied science and technology.
National Research Foundation (NRF) This link opens in a new window
Research and Knowledge Networking Databases in South Africa.
SA-ePublications (Sabinet) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to articles published in South African journals.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to open access peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly journals.
Textile Technology Complete
Provides extensive coverage of the scientific and technological aspects of textile production and processing. Formerly the Institute of Textile Technology's Textile Technology Digest, this database traces the body of knowledge in textile science and technology as far back as the early years of the 20th century.
South African Law Reports, 1947 to present
Included is the full text of judgments from 1947 to date. Judgments are published in the language in which they were initially reported. Also included is The Index and Annotations to the South African Law Reports (consolidated from 1947 to date) comprising a Table of Cases, Annotations, Subject Index, Words and Phrases, Statutes, Rules of Court and cases judicially considered.
Contents Include: The most recent issue of Juta's Quarterly Review of South African Law.
SABS (South African Bureau of Standards) provides a range of standards covering the demands of the Civil Engineering industry. CPUT Libraries subscribes to a selection of these standards. These standards may not be copied or printed.
VLeBooks is one of the platforms CPUT Libraries use for providing access to single ebook titles.
Skillsoft’s Books24x7® provides leading on demand business, technical and engineering content containing thousands of digitized "best in class" books, book summaries, research reports and best practices. The Books24x7 On-Demand Platform enables users to search, browse, read and collaborate with other users of these vast professional libraries.
Sage Research Methods
This is an online research tool to help researchers design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method. It focuses on methodology rather than discipline. It contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book,” and "Little Blue Book” series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and specially commissioned videos