Guides: Cape Town Hotel School : Databases

Off-Campus Access to Databases

Off-Campus Access This link opens in a new window
Staff and students should note that they will be prompted for their Novell login to access electronic resources of the library.

Databases

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
An electronic collection of full text and bibliographic information covering the following: physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Video tutorial: What is a library database?

What is a database?

A database is a collection of data grouped together for a specific purpose. A database is used to keep large amounts of information organised. This enables people to search for relevant information. You can sort, browse and find information in a database.

Many different types of databases are available in the Library.

Each database will have a description of what is available on the database. Make sure to read these descriptions before you start your search. Some databases are available to all students and lecturers for searching, while others may only be used by the Librarians, because of licence constraints.

Video Source: RMIT University

Links to Popular Databases for Hotel School

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offering 550 highly-regarded reference titles, Credo General Reference Premium covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference works.
Current and Completed Research ( Sabinet) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Host This link opens in a new window
Emerald This link opens in a new window
Management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; engineering, applied science and technology.
Gale Cengage learning This link opens in a new window
Lexis Nexis This link opens in a new window
My LexisNexis offers a wide range of online publications including works like LAWSA, Butterworths Forms and Precedents, Law Reports and Statutes. My LexisNexis offers you superior local and international content from the followings sectors:
• legal,
• tax,
• accounting,
• financial services and
• health and safety and environment
Please note...
Type your Name / Surname / Email address in the fields provided and click submit. Thereafter you will be able to access content without entering any user credentials each time.
National Research Foundation (Nexus Database) This link opens in a new window
Logon Details
Username: zctech
Password: ctech
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
SABINET This link opens in a new window
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An electronic collection of full text and bibliographic information covering the following: physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Springerlink This link opens in a new window

Press Reader

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Containing the latest research from a broad sweep of subject areas, there are 250 peer-reviewed academic journals for the global market in this database - spanning over 32 subject areas, ranging from Agriculture, Archaeology and Anthropology, Business Management, Nutrition, to Psychology and Cognitive Science, Religion and Social Studies.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offering 550 highly-regarded reference titles, Credo General Reference Premium covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference works.
Current & Completed Research (Sabinet) This link opens in a new window
South African research projects in economics, science, humanities and includes the masters and doctoral theses from the South African Universities and technikons, as well as the research works from the government, non-government and private sectors.
Dissertations and Theses (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses are a vital fund of scholarship for any discipline. The massive body of work available through ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) represents the most comprehensive source of academic research in the world.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to open access peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly journals.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Medicine, Nutrition, diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, hardware, software, Electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, and many more general interest topics.
Gale/Infotrac This link opens in a new window
Medicine, Nutrition, diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, hardware, software, Electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, and many more general interest topics.
Lexis Nexis This link opens in a new window
My LexisNexis offers a wide range of online publications including works like LAWSA, Butterworths Forms and Precedents, Law Reports and Statutes. My LexisNexis offers you superior local and international content from the followings sectors:
• legal,
• tax,
• accounting,
• financial services and
• health and safety and environment
Please note...
Type your Name / Surname / Email address in the fields provided and click submit. Thereafter you will be able to access content without entering any user credentials each time.
National Research Foundation (NRF) This link opens in a new window
Research and Knowledge Networking Databases in South Africa.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences, Telecommunications, Education, Science, Engineering, Dissertations & Thesis, Business, Economics, Medical, Agriculture and Computing.
SA-ePublications (Sabinet) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to articles published in South African journals.
Swetswise This link opens in a new window
The service offers a straightforward interface simplifying online access to electronic publications.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) This link opens in a new window
This repository contains various World Bank publications from 2009-2012 (more than 2,100 books and papers) across a wide range of topics and all regions of the world. This includes the World Development Report, and other annual flagship publications, academic books, practitioner volumes, and the Bank's publicly disclosed country studies and analytical reports. The repository also contains journal articles from 2007-2010 from the two World Bank journals WBRO and WBER.