Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Retail Business Management: Databases

This is a Subject guide for CPUT Retail Business Students in the Faculty of Business

Examples of Databases

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Databases

What is a database?

A database is a collection of data grouped together for a specific purpose. A database is used to keep large amounts of information organised. This enables people to search for relevant information. You can sort, browse and find information in a database.

Many different types of databases are available in the Library. Some are available on the Internet and others on CD-Rom.

 

Different types of databases:

In a Library there are basically four types of databases:

 

TYPE

 

DESCRIPTION

 

 

Bibliographic databases

 

Index - These databases include only the essential details that will help you to find the material you are looking for, e.g. name of the journal/periodical/book, name of author, volume number, issue number, date, etc.

Abstract Index
- This type of database includes the essential information as described above as well as a short abstract (summary) of the content of the publication.

 

Full-text databases

Contains full-text articles, etc. An example of such a database would be Ebscohost. The text can be downloaded in different formats, such as pdf (portable document format) or html (hyper text mark-up language) format.

Numeric databases

This type of database provides numerical data such as statistics, survey results, census information, etc.

Hybrid databases

This type of database provides a combination of different types of records.

 

Each database will have a description of what is available on the database. Make sure to read these descriptions before you start your search. Some databases are available to all students and lecturers for searching, while others may only be used by the Librarians, because of licence constraints.

Video Tutorial: What is a Library Database?

UA-89927696-1