Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry: Databases

This guide is designed to meet the information needs of Department of Chemistry at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology in the Applied Science Faculty

Databases

What is a database?
A database is a collection of data grouped together for a specific purpose. A database is used to keep large amounts of information organised. This enables people to search for relevant information. You can sort, browse and find information in a database.

Core databases

American Chemical Society: covers chemistry and chemical related subjects

RSC Journals: include Chemistry Communications ; Chemical Science ; Chemical Society Reviews ; Chemistry World ; CrystEngComm ; New Journal of Chemistry ; Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry

ChemSpider (Royal Society of Chemistry): provide access to over 25 million structures, properties and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from more than 400 data sources, ChemSpider enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search.

ProquestSocial Sciences, Telecommunications, Education, Science, Engineering, Dissertations & Thesis, Business, Economics, Medical, Agriculture and Computing.

SpringerLink: covers Biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics.

Ebscohost: covers a wide range of subjects including  Electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, and many more general interest topics.

Credo Reference: covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference works

Multidisciplinary databases

  • Sabinet Reference: provide world class products and services to sub-Saharan Africa
  • JSTOR
  • ScienceDirect
  • Science Journals (Proquest)
  • Wiley Online Library
  • Scopus: is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. 
  • Primo -Library catalogue  contains full text journal title list of CPUT subscriptions. Search by typing the name or ISSN of the journal. 
  • DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
UA-89927696-1