Guides: Research Support Guide: Home

Additional Research Guides

Ask Us
Ask Us online live chat hours during semester periods:
Monday - Thursday 08h00 - 22:00
Friday 08h00 - 17h00
Please contact the specific branch for vacation hours.
Thank You
more...less...
For more detailed support please contact your faculty Librarian.
Taylor & Francis Online
Research articles, book chapters and information is free to access and available for anyone to read.
For CPUT Researchers

Mendeley @ CPUT
by Nathan Kalam Last Updated Jun 27, 2016 1236 views this year

Research Cycle Guide
by Janine Lockhart Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 202 views this year

Research Impact Guide
by Janine Lockhart Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 90 views this year

Journals table of content
JournalTOCs is for researchers, librarians, students and anyone who's looking for the latest or most current papers published in the scholarly literature with international coverage.
Plagiarism Checker by Grammarly
Grammarly’s plagiarism checker detects plagiarism in your text and checks for other writing issues.

POSTGRADUATE GUIDES

CPUT Mobile Print - How to guide
CPUT New CorporatePower Point slide template
Researcher's conference presentation template
CPUT plagiarism policy
CPUT postgraduate proposal guide
CPUT thesis template
How to write a literature review
Postgraduate studies at CPUT
This guide is intended for students who wish to register for postgraduate
(Master’s and doctoral)
Research Support Platform Guide

Welcome

This RESEARCH INFORMATION SUPPORT GUIDE is intended to provide an online guide to resources and information for postgraduate students and researchers at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology.

The Research Information Support Centre (RISC) is a dedicated space for postgraduate (Master’s and doctoral) students and staff in the libraries at Bellville & District Six.

Directory for Open Access Books
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

TOP SUBJECTS
more...less...
36,469 academic peer-reviewed books from 599 publishers

Global ETD Search
Global ETD Search. Search the 6,506,304 electronic theses and dissertations contained in the NDLTD archive: advanced search tips how to contribute records.

News

GRADUATE: Ralitsa Debrah: The Afrikan design dream - 06 July 2021
Ralitsa Debrah recently graduated with the degree Doctor of Applied Arts in Design. Her thesis is titled: Design for Health: Co-designing health information services in the Afrikan context. Below follows her personal story on her journey to graduation:

Bellville, District Six, Wellington and Mowbray will be open until 22h00

Mondays - Thursdays

Granger Bay and Tygerberg will be open until 18h00 Mondays - Thursdays

Recess hours excluded

New Master’s in Smart Grids launched
POTENTIAL ENERGY: Sinawo Nomandela, a full-time Master student at the Centre for Substation Automation and Energy Management Systems works on the real-time implementation of the Smart Grid system developed in his thesis.
Sanitiser project set in motion
The shortage of sanitisers in retail shops, as well as a spike in the price of the product by some stockists, have prompted the Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment to produce sanitisers for use during and after the lockdown period.
more...less...
This project is set to benefit the entire CPUT community and visitors. Project coordinator and researcher, Prof Tunde Ojumu from the Chemical Engineering Department, said the university has about 33 000 students and about 3000 staff members who will be needing large quantities of sanitisers when they fully return to campus.
Postdoctoral fellow has perfect pitch
Postdoctoral fellow Dr Taskeen Docrat did CPUT proud at the recent Virtual Postdoctoral Research Summit.

Docrat took first prize in the category: Elevator pitch presentation for her presentation: The Abili"Tea" Of Rooibos to Protect Against Alzheimer's Disease.

Directory for Open Access Books
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
more...less...
36,469 academic peer-reviewed books from 599 publishers

Google Scholar

Practical tips for thesis writing from the Thesis Whisperer

10 tips for writing a PhD thesis
1. Do not be daunted by the task of “writing up”. ...
2. Plan the structure of your thesis carefully with your supervisor. ...
3. Academic writing does not have to be dry. ...
4. Do not write up in chronological order. ...
5. Think carefully about your writing. ...

Most universities use a preferred style of references....
Use a house style.

Digital training can help supervisors lift PhD output

SLA: Research Support Services

Adhil Parker

Research support

Email Me

Contact:

Corner of Hanover and Tennant Street
District 6
https://orcid.org/0000-0003-4921-4563

SUBJECTS
Knowledge Management, Information Systems, Library, Research, Research support, Real Estates, property management, Sports. Information Sytems and Business Applications

+27 21 460 3006

Useful links

Mendeley This link opens in a new window

CPUT thesis and research repository This link opens in a new window
Research Directorate This link opens in a new window

HDC Forms
Postgraduate Information
Centre for Postgraduate Studies
The Centre for Postgraduate Studies (CPGS) was established in 2009 with the responsibility to coordinate postgraduate studies and postdoctoral research at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT).

https://www.cput.ac.za/lib