Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Video Tutorial: What is a library database?
Databases for Sports Management - Subject Specific
SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text
SPORTDiscus with Fulltext is the most comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation etc.
Databases for Sport Management -Multi-disciplinary
A-Z Full Text Finder
Access to journal titles CPUT library has available in full text format via all Databases
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
Social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more
Brittanica Image Quest
Image Quest allows access two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world including Dorling Kindersley Images, Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, the National Geographic Society, Oxford Scientific, and other leading names.
All images in Image Quest are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use.
Business Source Premier
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily.
Management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; engineering, applied science and technology.
Encyclopedia Brittanica Online Academic Edition
The rich combination of the insightful Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research—all from one site.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, full text reference books, biographies, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily.
Co-operative, computerised database of all library stock in Southern Africa. Includes books, journals, conference proceedings, standards, technical reports. Updated weekly.
Provides full-text access to articles published in South African journals.
An electronic collection of full text and bibliographic information covering the following: physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
"Refereed" or "Peer-Reviewed" Journals
"Peer review" is the process through which experts in a field of study examine and assess the quality of articles before they are published. Peer review insures that the research described in a journal's articles is sound and of high quality.
Sometimes the term "refereed" is used instead of peer reviewed.
You can identify Peer reviewed journals in the following sources:
We subscribe to and have access to many e- Journals, which you can access via the databases. Use the A-Z Full-text finder to find out if the journal you want to access is available full-text.
There are very few print journals available anymore. We do have back copies in the Library of SportBusiness International, which you can browse through in the Mowbray Campus Library. You can see the Library's holdings via the catalogue.