Architectural Technology : Books

Aimed at all of us who travel to learn about new places and cultures, the book gathers together hundreds of unforgettable art experiences around the world, acting as an inspirational travel guide for anyone interested in art. From the Lightning Field in New Mexico to an art island in Japan, expert guide Yolanda Zappaterra leads us on a comprehensive, worldwide tour of bucket list destinations for every season.

Updated edition. Design thinking is a human centered approach to finding real innovative solutions to tough problems.

The 'smart city' is often promoted as a technology-driven solution to complex urban issues. Drawing on original research conducted in urban African settings, this book provides a much-needed alternative view, exploring how 'home-grown' digital disruption, driven and initiated by local actors, upending the mainstream corporate narrative.

Sustainable architecture
Architecture -- Environmental aspects

"Anger, hurt, loss, rejection ... these feelings are familiar to the families who, in the early 1970s, were forced from their homes in Harfield Village in Cape Town's southern suburbs. Siona O'Connell brings their stories to light. She examines the lost ways of life, the sense of home and belonging experienced by these families. David Brown's images show what life was like in Harfield before the removal, and his images are echoed by recent photos of the same former residents." (back cover)

Accomplished landscape designer and botanist Marijke Honig puts forward the fundamentals in this comprehensive reference that is at once inspirational, practical and easy to use. This book is all about choosing the right plants for a particular space and purpose in your garden.

Creating a successful literature review is a complex project. This book serves as a logical road map to assist the researcher in finding a topic, researching, organizing, arguing, and composing the review. The 4th edition has been updated, expanded and newly reorganized to improve ease of use.

Public buildings -- Africa.
Capitols.

The book explores the challenges for education and describes how changes to feedback in education can shape the future of architecture and the creative arts.

Water and architecture.
Architecture, Modern -- 21st century.

This book will be useful to many others beyond the design studio. Indeed, those on the front lines of real-world urban design - city and town administrators , professional designers and planners, and ordinary citizens face the same dilemma as the student: an expectation or hope of realizing concrete solutions quickly, even as bigger questions beg to be explored.

The revered architectural reference, updated with contemporary examples and interactive 3D models

Architecture is a Verb outlines an approach that shifts the fundamental premises of architectural design and practice in several important ways. Written in engaging prose for students of architecture, interiors and urban design, as well as practising professionals, Sarah Robinson offers richly illustrated practical examples for a new generation of designers.

Ongoing urbanisation requires rapid, low-emission construction methods. Architects, investors and politicians are on the hunt for housing solutions that are fast and cost-effective, yet sustainable and flexible. This practical volume offers an overview, from the planning process to assembly, while contemporary examples show that building with room modules facilitates heretofore unimagined, multi-layered and differentiated architectures.

A new edition of Francis D.K. Ching's illustrated guide to structural design Structures are an essential element of the building process, yet one of the most difficult concepts for architects to grasp. While structural engineers do the detailed consulting work for a project, architects should have enough knowledge of structural theory and analysis to design a building. Building Structures Illustrated takes a new approach to structural design, showing how structural systems of a building such as an integrated assembly of elements with pattern, proportions, and scale are related to the fundamental aspects of architectural design.

Construction Specifications Writing, Sixth Edition continues to claim distinction as the foremost text on construction specifications. This mainstay in the field offers comprehensive, practical, and professional guidance to understanding the purposes and processes for preparation of construction specifications.

This collection interrogates relationships between court architecture and social justice, from consultation and design to the impact of material (and immaterial) forms on court users, through the lenses of architecture, law, socio-legal studies, criminology, anthropology, and a former senior federal judge. International multidisciplinary collaborations and single-author contributions traverse a range of methodological approaches to present new insights into the relationship between architecture, design, and justice.

Cross laminated timber (CLT) is a relatively new material developed in the 1990s in central Europe where it is now well established in use. Referred to beyond the UK as crosslam, x-lam, jumbo ply or tilt-up timber, CLT is an engineered mass timber product manufactured from alternating direction layers (lamella) of small section timber, adhesive bonded and pressed to form large format, solid panels that are factory CNC machined with extremely high precision.

First published in 1996, The Eyes of the Skin has become a classic of architectural theory. It asks the far-reaching question why, when there are five senses, has one single sense - sight - become so predominant in architectural culture and design?

At last: a South African how-to with everything you need to know to create a dream indigenous garden. Accomplished landscape designer and botanist Marijke Honig puts forward the fundamentals in this comprehensive reference that is at once inspirational, practical and easy to use. This book is all about choosing the right plants for a particular space and purpose in your garden. Marijke shares her vast bank of knowledge and experience to help you assess the conditions in your garden, select the perfect plants and grow them successfully.

Materials for Architects and Builders provides a clear and concise introduction to the broad range of materials used within the construction industry and covers the essential details of their manufacture, key physical properties, specification and uses.

Understanding the basics of materials is a crucial part of undergraduate and diploma construction or architecture-related courses, and this established textbook helps the reader to do just that with the help of colour photographs and clear diagrams throughout.

In Soft City David Sim, partner and creative director at Gehl, shows how cities with well-designed density can result in a higher quality of life. He presents ideas and graphic examples from around the globe. He draws from his vast design experience to make a case for a dense and diverse built environment at a human scale, which he presents through a series of observations of older and newer places, and a range of simple built phenomena, some traditional and some totally new inventions. Soft City offers inspiration, ideas, and guidance in a highly visual package, for anyone interested in city building.

10+ years 100+ buildings - architecture in a democratic South Africa is premised on its companion 10 years 100 artists - art in a democratic South Africa in which ten art critics each nominated ten artists for inclusion.

Architects' Data provides an essential reference for the initial design and planning of a building project. Organised largely by building type, and with over 6000 diagrams, it provides a mass of data on spatial requirements and also covers planning criteria and considerations of function and siting.

Most illustrations are dimensioned and each building type includes plans, sections, site layouts and design details. There are substantial new sections on:

· building components
· services
· heating
· lighting
· thermal and sound insulation
· fire protection

Offers an outstanding introduction to the principles of building construction. This new edition of the revered classic remains as relevant as ever-providing the latest information in Francis D.K. Ching's signature style. Its rich and comprehensive approach clearly presents all of the basic concepts underlying building construction and equips readers with useful guidelines for approaching virtually any new materials or techniques they may encounter.

Architecture and technology.
Architecture -- Philosophy.

Building materials.
Architecture.
Surfaces (Technology)
Exterior walls.
Wood.
Stone.

Architecture -- Dictionaries.
Building -- Dictionaries.