Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Horticulture & Landscape: Finding Information

This guide provides useful information resources for Horticulture & Landscape. Use blue tabs to navigate between pages within this guide.

Assignments, Projects...

Where to find information for your assignments and research projects? 

   



  • Find online journals - search fulltext finder (search by typing the name of the journal)
 
PLEASE NOTE: Information literacy modules listed below are designed to enable students to recognize the value of information and use it to make informed choices in their personal, professional and academic lives. The information literacy course is aimed at empowering students to:
  • effectively access,
  • evaluate,
  • organize,
  • synthesize and apply information from a variety of sources and formats in a variety of contexts
Notes on Five information literacy modules
 
1. Searching strategy or topic analysis, watch this video! 
The above modules are available via Information Literacy Student Resource link
 
Contact person 
Veliswa Tshetsha, Faculty Librarian: Applied Sciences, Cape Peninsula University of Technology Bellville, 7535, + 27 21 959 6948; http://www.cput.ac.za/library

Free Online Reference Sources (Dictionaries, encyclopaedia...)

 
This dictionary is aimed at architects, students and all those interested in architecture terminology.

Bilingual Dictionaries
The following languages are covered: French, English, Spanish, German and Italian.

Cambridge Dictionaries Online
There are at least 12 bilingual dictionaries and 6 English dictionaries available at this site.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Academic Edition

The Collins Dictionaries
The following languages are available: English, French, German, Spanish and Italian.  There is a thesaurus as well as a translator feature.

Dictionary.com
This dictionary provides reliable access to millions of English definitions and meanings, spelling, audio pronunciations, example sentences and word origins.  Content is licensed from trusted and established sources including American Heritage and Harper Collins.  Dictionary.com’s main source is based on The Random House Dictionary.

Digital dictionary
This is a glossary of photographic terms.

The Free Dictionary
This dictionary offers the following options:  dictionary/thesaurus ; medical dictionary, legal dictionary; financial dictionary; acronyms, idioms, encyclopedia.
Macmillan dictionary and thesaurus
This online dictionary is regularly updated, and includes a thesaurus, which is fully integrated into the entries.
 
Merriam Webster Online Dictionary
This site offers the following options: an English dictionary, thesaurus, encyclopedia and a medical dictionary.

Oxford dictionaries 
The highest quality dictionary and grammar content available built from Oxford’s extensive research programme is available free on Oxforddictionaries.com and thelibrary has a copy of Oxford dictionary of chemistry

Thesaurus.com
It provides users with over 1,000 modern synonyms and a suite of helpful features and tools to help people find the perfect word.

The Visual Dictionary
The Visual Dictionary combines dictionary-scale definitions with exceptional illustrations.  It is an indispensable visual reference that goes beyond object identification to answer questions about function, significance and purpose.

Webopedia
This is an online dictionary for Information Technology.  Webopedia definitions evolve and change as technology and standards changes, so definitions are frequently updated to reflect trends in the field. New terms are added on a regular basis 

Your dictionary
This dictionary is easy to understand with lots of tools to help you choose your words precisely, understand a word, avoid usage pitfalls and be confident in your use of words.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Vuyokazi Kiva-Johnson
Contact:
Cape Peninsula Univ Technology
P.O. Box 1906
Bellville
7535
+27 21 9596948
UA-89927696-1