From a full text database
• Full text databases include Academic OneFile, ProQuest, and PsycARTICLES, to name a few.
• Include the Database name and the internet address.
When including the internet address of articles retrieved from searches in full-text databases, please use the Recommended URLs for Full-text Databases, which are the URLs for the main entrance to the service and are easier to reproduce.
From the internet
• Unlike journal articles from full text databases these are often freely available on the internet.
• Some publishers offer recent issues for free and earlier issues for a subscription fee.
• Include the complete internet address.
Standard format for citation
From a full text database
|
#. Author A, Author B. Title of article. Abbreviated Title of Journal [format]. year [cited year abbreviated month day];vol(no):page numbers. Available from: Database Name. Internet address. |
From the internet
|
#. Author A, Author B. Title of article. Abbreviated Title of Journal [format]. year [cited year abbreviated month day];vol(no):page numbers. Available from: Internet address. |
Journal article from a full text database
1. Palsson G, Hardardottir KE. For whom the cell tolls: debates about biomedicine (1). Curr Anthropol [serial online]. 2002 [cited 2005 Jun 30];43(2):271+. Available from: Academic OneFile. http://find.galegroup.com.
2. Allen C, Crake D, Wilson H, Buchholz A. Polycystic ovary syndrome and a low glycemic index diet. Can J Diet Pract Res [serial online]. 2005 [cited 2005 Jun 30];Summer:3. Available from: ProQuest. http://il.proquest.com.
3. Abalos E, Carroli G, Mackey ME. The tools and techniques of evidence-based medicine. Best Pract Res Clin Obstet Gynaecol [serial online]. 2005 [cited 2010 Aug 6];19(1):15-26. Available from: ScienceDirect. http://www.sciencedirect.com/.
Journal article from the internet
4. Eisen SA, Kang HK, Murphy FM, Blanchard MS, Reda DJ, Henderson WG, et al. Gulf War veterans' health: medical evaluation of a U.S. cohort? Ann Intern Med [serial on the Internet]. 2005 [cited 2005 Jun 30];142(11):881+. Available from: http://www.annals.org/.
5. Sillick TJ, Schutte NS. Emotional intelligence and self-esteem mediate between perceived early parental love and adult happiness. E-Jnl Appl Psych [serial on the Internet]. 2006 [cited 2010 Aug 6];2(2):38–48. Available from: http://ojs.lib.swin.edu.au/index.php/ejap/article/view/71/100.