Research Support Guide: Publications

Where to Publish?

• The Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET) has compiled a list of  DHET Accredited Journals 2017, 2016  see more DHET Accredited publications 
• The list contain titles from: DHET, IBSS, ISI, Norwegian, SciELO SA, and Scopus
• Publishing in these accredited  journals will attract a subsidy for the university. These lists might be your starting point or researchers can browse through:  
• Broswe and choose from Open Access Journal list by subjects  or search by journal or article title or use Directory of Open Access journals (DOAJ) platform. 
• View  Elsevier Open Access Journal list 
• Researchers can even compare up to 10 Journal impact factors using Scopus compare sources tool.
• Share, save and publish research output in the University's open access institutional repository, the CPUT Digital Knowledge
• Check publisher guidelines  on SHERPA/RoMEO for Terms of use, archiving policies, posting, sharing of your work. 
• CPUT Research Reports outline an impressive array of research activities and achievements done by faculties, research groups, centres and units

Open Access Publishing

Open Access is the free, immediate, online availability of research articles combined with the rights to use these articles fully in the digital environment (SPARC, 2017)

• Directory of Open Access journals (DOAJ) platform is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Open Access publication charges also known as Article Processing Charges (APC’s) can be included within the costs of research funding and be requested from the research funder
• The Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association contain list of Open Access journal publishers
• The National Research Foundation (NRF) released a statement as of  01 March 2015, authors of research papers generated from research either fully or partially funded by NRF, when submitting and publishing in academic journals, should deposit their final peer-reviewed manuscripts that have been accepted by the journals, to the administering Institution Repository with an embargo period of no more than 12 months
• Share, save and publish research output in the University's open access institutional repository, the PUT Digital Knowledge. Publishers may restrict authors in using (archiving/storing) publisher’s version in the institutional repository but will allow authors to use their own final version, even though the content of the article is exactly the same. If authors don’t have their own copy, the editor might have a copy to supply. Authors are advised to always keep their copy of the final version
• It is important for authors to check journal publisher copyright rules on SHERPA/RoMEO whether the publisher allow authors to archive their work. Authors are therefore required to check terms of use, archiving policies, posting, sharing of their work
• Authors can also check SHERPA/JULIET to see if a particular funder has an open access requirement for research outputs
• CPUT Research Reports outline an impressive array of research activities and achievements done by faculties, research groups, centres and units

There are two routes to get your work into the Open Access domain:

• Gold Route

If you publish your article in a journal that is not an Open Access journal, then you could still make your article freely available in the CPUT Repository. Sometimes this means publishing the author's final copy, or having to embargo your article. The publisher determines these restrictions

• Green Route

Publishing your article in an Open Access journal is known as the green route. If you do this, you can still make your article available in the CPUT Repository. Below this video find the list of accredited journals that are also Open Access

• Learn how to share and promote  your work openly through Open Access
• Consult about publishing options and access to publishing platforms
• Learn about copyright in publishing, teaching and research: Copyright Services, Licenses and SPARC author addendum

Journal Publishers

• Authors can publish in Elsevier Open Access Journals, the world-leading publisher of scientific, technical and medical information products and services

• Collaborate by finding leading authors within your institution or globally using Scopus database

• SCImago Journal and Country Ranking  contain journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database
• Journal Citation Reports provides annual rankings of Thomson Reuters journals
• Use Scopus Journal Analyzer to find  journal performance
• The Elsevier’s Journal Finder provide open access options and provides information about publication speeds and impact factors
• Find Leading publishers from List of top International Journal Publishers 
• Google Scholar Metrics

Book Publishers

• List of Top Ranked Academic Book Publishers produced by Socio-Economic and Natural Sciences of the Environment