This guide is designed to assist students and researchers to find information resources in various special collections held by CPUT libraries. Please do not hesitate to consult your Librarians.
Press Readeroffers access to over 5500 newspapers and magazines, from over 100 countries including 200+ South African newspapers and magazines. Click on https://www.cput.ac.za/library-databases/pressreader.Open Press Reader and type in your CPUT username and password.
The CPUT Special Collections preserve and make accessible rare books, manuscripts, and other primary sources to all CPUT students, staff, researchers and members of the public, for research purposes.
The collections cover various areas including, South African history, South African Old School Curricula and Handbooks, genealogy, CPUT authored books and maritime books focusing on ships and shipping history.
These collections are not held in one location but physically available in one of the six CPUT libraries. The holding library of a special collection is linked where possible to the subject or research area covered by the faculty located at a campus.
Access to CPUT Special Collections
Free entrance and use of the special collections in CPUT Libraries to students, staff, researchers and members of the public, for research purposes.
Special Collections are restricted use research collections and can only be used inside the library, because it also includes unique, rare and often fragile items.
Special collections information resources in both physical and online form can be searched through the CPUT Libraries online catalogue.
