Skip to Main Content

For Researchers: Research Support Services

This guide contain services available for CPUT Researchers

Research Support Services

 

Use Library research  tools for pre-searching/reading around your topic

Find local, national and international Thesis and Dissertations

How can I request an article or a book from my library when there is not full text available?  

  • The Interlibrary loan services allow researchers to place requests for materials not available at CPUT libraries. Please note that this service is only available to postgraduate students. 
  • Get answers and advice from your Faculty Librarians, or contact your  Branch Library

Partners and collaborations at CPUT

Find leading authors in your field: Use Scopus citation analysis database to find leading authors in your field of research.

CPUT research performance: Do an affiliation search within Scopus. Learn more how to do an affiliation search.  

Proposal Writing Resources

The following resources can be useful in the research proposal writing process: 

 

Literature review resources

Use Library research  tools for pre-searching/reading around your topic

 

Manage your information using Reference Management Tools

  • Reference management tools help researchers to cite sources, organize documents, create in-text citations and bibliographies using free citation and information management tool known as Mendeley.
  • Other free reference management tools include Cite This For Me, Zotero, RefME …

 

Support, facilities, equipment and software tools

  •  CPUT support researchers with  facilities, equipments and software like SPSS software, statistica software, atlas.ti software, turnitin, plagiarism software, academic and information support.

Data Management Plan

CPUT Data Management Plan (DMP) is the university’s data management planning tool. It provides tailored guidance and examples to help researchers write data management plans. Funders require Data Management Plan (DMP) and data sharing. Create your own data management plan using CPUT Data Management Plan Tool.

CPUT Libraries support researchers with secured spaces for research data where authors can store, share and discover CPUT research data using  CPUT Data Repository (Figshare) and CPUT Data Repository (MediaTum). This makes it easy for research data  to  be viewed, accessible and cited.  Share, save and publish research output in these open access data repositories: 

Institutional Repository

Allow researchers are to share, save and publish  their research output in the University's open access Institutional Repository. Check publisher guidelines on SHERPA/RoMEO for terms of use, archiving policies, posting, sharing of your work

Researchers can also browse through a list of research data repositories by re3data.org  as well as Data Cite registry to find datasets, software, images, and more research material. Learn more about support and advice for managing your Research Data  

For support and guidance Contact RDM office

Research data management / Finding, Creating, and Using Data

Research Data Management governs the process of research data creation, organisation, discovery, storage, sharing and security. Manage data more effectively following these steps:

  • Step 1: Development of a research plan
  • Step 2: Review of data sets
  • Step 3: Data collection and storage
  • Step 4: Publication of research data
  • Step 5: Training and support

For support and guidance Contact RDM

Publish Your Data

The CPUT Figshare is the most secured space for your research data where you can store, share, making it easy for your research data accessible and cited.  Share, save and publish research output in the University's open access institutional repository

  • Open Access and DHET accredited Journal list might be your start point or Browse the Directory of Open Access journals (DOAJ)
  • Learn how to share and promote your work openly through Open Access
  • Consult about publishing options and access to publishing platforms to start a new publication with the University Libraries to support University affiliates’ creation of scholarly publications
  • Learn about copyright in publishing, teaching and research: Copyright Services and Licenses

Researchers can also browse through a list of research data repositories by re3data.org  as well as Data Cite registry to find datasets, software, images, and more research material.​

Where to Publish?

  • The Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET) has compiled a list of  DHET Accredited Journals. 
  • The list contain titles from DHET, IBSS, ISI, Norwegian, SciELO SA, and Scopus. Publishing in these accredited  journals will attract a subsidy for the university. These lists might be your starting point or researchers can browse through:  
  • Directory of Open Access journals (DOAJ) platform 
  • Share, save and publish research output in the University's open access institutional repository, the Institutional Repository. Check publisher guidelines  on SHERPA/RoMEO for Terms of use, archiving policies, posting, sharing of your work. 
  • CPUT Research Reports outline an impressive array of research activities and achievements done by faculties, research groups, centres and units

 

Open Access Publishing

Open Access is the free, immediate, online availability of research articles combined with the rights to use these articles fully in the digital environment (SPARC, 2017). Why Open Access? read more here 

 

There are two routes to get your work into the Open Access domain:

Gold Route

If you publish your article in a journal that is not an Open Access journal, then you could still make your article freely available in the CPUT Repository. Sometimes this means publishing the author's final copy, or having to embargo your article. The publisher determines these restrictions. 

Green Route

Publishing your article in an Open Access journal is known as the green route. If you do this, you can still make your article available in the CPUT Repository. Below this video find the list of accredited journals that are also Open Access. 

 Elseviers': Understanding the publishing process

  • Open Access publishing options by Elsevier
  • This link provides helpful and informative insight into journal article publishing. 

http://www.elsevier.com/__data/assets/pdf_file/0017/181250/author_info_pack_2014_A4_WEB_Final.pdf

 

Open Access and DHET accredited Journal list  This list contain Open Access Journals from DHET accredited journal list checked via Directory of Open Access Journal (DOAJ) platform

Increase your research visibility and discoverability using Bibliometrics and Altmetrics tools

To maximize visibility and impact of your research CPUT Libraries recommend the following platforms.

  • REGISTER  for free for an ORCID iD.  Let the world discover you:  This unique persistent digital identifier helps millions of researchers to connect all kinds of research outputs using the ORCID iD.

  • Sign in if you already have an account
  • Add your publications on ORCID - view step-by-step process in this Guide or watch this video and Learn more about ORCID
  • Share outputs of your research via the Institutional Repository containing the research output published by CPUT researchers. 
  • Scopus, an accredited citation analysis tool provides bibliometric data for university rankings in the research excellence exercise.  If your publications are not listed on Scopus, load them in the institutional repository 
  • Track research impact using Impact measures like Scopus, Publish or Perish (PoP) and more by generating citation analysis reports of:

- Citation Counts

- Article Download Counts

- h-index  

UA-89927696-1